Skip To Main Content

School Community Council (SCC)

2022-2023 SCC Elections

Dear Bonneville Parents and Guardians, 

Each school in the Salt Lake City School District has a School Community Council (SCC) made up of school administrators, teachers and parents/guardians. Bonneville’s SCC includes 10 parent members, who are elected to a 2-year term. We have spots that need to be filled for the upcoming school year. 

Purposes of the School Community Council: 

●  To build consistent, effective collaboration and communication among families, staff, and administrators 

●  Provide a forum for families to be actively involved with the school and in their children’s education 

●  To identify academic needs and implement interventions that will measurably improve student performance 

One of the most important roles of the SCC is to decide how the school's Land Trust Funds will be spent to improve academic performance. This year, our allotment of Land Trust Funds were over $62,000 and in 2022-23 it will be over $55,000.  

We invite all parents and guardians to participate in our monthly SCC meetings, but in order to have a vote on the Council, you must be an elected member. Elections for open parent/guardian positions on the SCC will be held in the middle of May. To be considered for a position on the Council, the application must be returned by April 21, 2022 via email or submitted on paper to the school office. Click here to download the application.

The SCC meets just once a month, often via Zoom, for approximately one hour. We invite all Bonneville parents and guardians to apply - we need your voice and your insights to help steer the future of Bonneville Elementary!  

If you have any questions about the SCC or the application, please reach out to me, Principal Culley, at [email address, phone number] or current SCC Chair, Amy Jameson at amy@aplusbworks.com, 917-470-8913. 

The Purpose and Duties of SCC

School community councils are responsible for preparing plans that are submitted to the school board for approval. They also should assist, as needed, and provide support for the implementation of the approved plans. School community council members are to represent the group that elected them to the school community council, as they make decisions and bring issues to the school community council for consideration.

They may form subcommittees or task forces to address an issue or project and bring it to the school community council for approval. They are a good resource to school and district administrators in bringing issues of concern forward and in providing feedback, upon request.

The school plans for which the school community council has responsibility for developing are:

  • The School Improvement Plan
  • The School LAND Trust Plan
  • The Reading Achievement Plan (elementary)
  • The Child Access Routing Plan (all but high schools)
  • They also assist in the development of the Professional Development Plan but this plan is ultimately approved and submitted by staff

 

2021-2022 SCC Members

Parents

Macy Bell: macypbell@yahoo.com 

Frank Cipriano: cipfrank@gmail.com  

Salli Fiefia: sfiefia1@gmail.com 

Jonathan Freedman: jfskiutah@gmial.com  

Amanda Greenland: manda.greenland@gmail.com  

Heather Hayes: heath.h.hayes@gmail.com  

Amy Jameson: amy@aplusbworks.com 

Staff 

Wayne Culley (Principal): wayne.culley@slcschools.org  

Deb Dubek (Secretary): Deborah.dubek@slcschools.org 

Jenny Davis: jenny.davis@slcschools.org 

Linda Okabe: linda.okabe@slcschools.org 

Courtney Lee: courtney.lee@slcschools.org 

Jocelyn Lyon: jocelyn.lyon@slcschools.org 

Nathan Jacobsen: nathan.jacobsen@slcschools.org 

Adrienne Warren: adrienne.warren@slcschools.org 

Jason Wild: jason.wild@slcschools.org 

Summary of LAND Trust Money Received and Spent

2016-2017: $38,307

2017-2018: $49,696

2018-2019: $57,685

2019-2020:$62,408, with carryover $67,303

2020-2021: $62,294 with carryover $66,773

Summary of Goals and Expenditures for the 2019-2020 School Year

Goal #1:

Bonneville Elementary will provide students with reading intervention from a certified reading specialist with the goal to support, a minimum, of 20 qualified Tier 2 students. Bonneville Elementary will hire a certified reading specialist dedicated to reading intervention for the 2019-2020 school year.

Expenditure: Half time certified reading specialist

Estimated cost: $34,000

Actual Cost: $33,637.47

Goal #2:

Bonneville will provide after school tutoring from classroom teachers for students scoring below grade level in math.

Expenditure: Salaries for hourly tutoring for certified teachers

Estimated Cost: $13,000

Actual Cost: $24,022

Goal #3:

Bonneville will provide music instruction for K-2 students

Expenditure: Salary for part-time music teacher

Estimated Cost: $11,500

Actual Cost: $7,042

Technology Related Hardware – Headphones for the computer lab

Estimated Cost: $800

Actual Cost: $731.70

Total available for 2019-2020 School year: $67,303.00

Total expenditures: $65,433.17

Carryover: $1,870.00

School Community Council Meetings